I hate it when people claim to have the recipe for the “perfect” anything, so I won’t claim that I do, but I did bring together a recipe for a very good burger indeed last night. I record it here both to archive the details so I don’t forget them, and just to brag a little.

So here’s how it goes down. Per pound of hamburger you’re using, add 1 tablespoon of olive oil to the meat. This does a tremendous job of keeping the meat moist and juicy. The recipe I cribbed the idea from suggested mashing up 2 cloves of garlic and making a paste of that and the olive oil. Not having any garlic around last night (the horror, the horror!), I passed that one by. Add 3-4 tablespoons of worcestershire sauce and season to taste. Me, I threw in a splash of soy sauce, some tobasco, some steak seasoning and some kosher salt.

Here’s the other secret I stumbled on: once you’ve formed your patties, make an indentation in the middle of each patty with your thumb, deep enough that it almost goes all the way through. For whatever reason, this seems to keep the patties from shrinking, which is a huge problem I’ve had with burgers in the past.

Finally, toss them on the grill (one layer of hot coals, direct heat). If you like it pink in the middle, five minutes per side. If you like it with no pink, you should advance your tastes, but if you must ruin your burger cook it six and a half minutes per side, which will get you to no pink but not well done.

I have made some bad burgers in the past. This method produced burgers that made both myself and my wife very happy. The olive oil seems to keep the burgers so juicy that even when cooking to medium or beyond, they don’t dry out or burn on the outside.

So, praise God for Church and good dinner on Sunday, and a left over burger for lunch on Monday!

