6a00d8345191b869e200e54f4685898833-800wiThe sayings of the Desert Fathers are an absolute treasure trove of spiritual wisdom. I recently ran across the following story that has absolutely captivated me. I have an inkling of what it means, but I’d be very interested in anyone else’s perspective:

Abba Lot went to see Abba Joseph and said to him, ‘Abba as far as I can I say my little office, I fast a little, I pray and meditate, I live in peace and as far as I can, I purify my thoughts. What else can I do?’ then the old man stood up and stretched his hands towards heaven. His fingers became like ten lamps of fire and he said to him, ‘If you will, you can become all flame.’

“If you will, you can become all flame.” This is one of the most incredible things anyone has ever said as far as I’m concerned. I’m just about ready to make it my new motto and base my entire life around it.

So, thoughts? What is the meaning of this?

